Epcot Food and Wine Festival 2013

I’m a big part of the 2013 Epcot International Food and Wine Festival, and despite the fact I’ll be on the front lines, cooking up international treats for millions of guests, this is my first experience with Food and Wine.

I have no idea what to expect.

untitled (4)

The excitement is growing for this year’s festival, especially with the introduction of the Scotland booth (seared Scottish salmon with cauliflower puree, watercress and malt vinaigrette, and vegetarian haggis, anyone?)

The blogosphere is exploding and the internet is brimming with menu selections and ‘must-try’ dishes and drinks. I can hardly stand the suspense–my training isn’t quite complete, so my view of the festival is rather fragmented.

My chef instructor could not be more excited about my opportunity to help out at the festival. He keeps telling me to keep an eye out for him, he attends it annually. (“I might be a little tipsy, I like to drink around the world… just ignore me if I’m a little less professional than usual!”) He’s cooked for the festival as well, some time ago, and got the chance to serve Julia Child herself!

There is no greater opportunity for a Central Florida culinary student, and especially in my case: it’s my chance to cook for Disney, to live the dream!

2013-09-07 16.51.48

Does anyone have any magical memories from Food and Wine that you’d like to share? I’m dying to hear from seasoned Food and Wine vets! (Get the joke? Seasoned? Haha…)

Share below!

Leave Your Opinion

