Fearless

picture credit: pinterest

I spent my last Saturday getting up early, putting on my chef whites and trudging to the school in the rain when I should have been sleeping in. (Fun fact I’m learning about college life–sleep isn’t really a priority anymore and I’m suffering for it!)

The school hosts classes that are open to the public twice a month. They needed volunteer students to assist, and I thought I could use the experience, so I found myself lugging cutting boards to and fro steel tables at eight in the morning.

The day was just getting started. I spent six hours running around the room, assisting people with everything from finding cucumbers to boning chickens. And I haven’t even reached my meat fabrication unit yet, so that was fun. Fake it till you make it, right? Some of these people were really nice, others slightly more standoffish. It was hard to read a few of them and know whether or not they wanted us to help or go away.

By the end of the day, one very nice woman hugged us all and kissed our cheeks and thanked us profusely. Each person left with recipe cards and takeout boxes full of paella and other Spanish goodies they’d made. The mess was enormous! Even with two four-compartment sinks, it took us an hour and a half to complete cleaning the room.

Luckily, as reward for volunteering, we will be given certificates that look snazzy on resumes. But the best reward of all was running into Chef Klaus (who is now back from Vegas with the Lifetime Achievement award in his pocket). He raised his eyebrows at us and smiled. The other two volunteers I was with also take Chef Klaus’s class. The fact he saw us putting in extra time? That’s priceless. We couldn’t stop grinning–that made it worthwhile, the whole experience wasn’t lost if Chef Klaus saw us working overtime.

I’ve come to the conclusion that to be the best you have to work the hardest. Sometimes it’s not all that fun, but it’s always worthwhile. I’m hoping these experiences pay off! I’m planning to assist with the next public class soon.

The day after tomorrow is my interview with Casting. I’ve bought a new outfit and everything. Hopefully, if it all goes the way I hope it will, I will have achieved my ultimate dream–cooking for Disney!

Fingers crossed! Send wishful thoughts and prayers my way, I need all the help I can get!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Fearless

  1. The extra time spent, paid or not, is always worth it when done with the right intent. Kudos to you for the effort and will pray for your interview to go well.

Leave Your Opinion

