I’m Still Lost

“If we don’t live together, then we are going to die alone!”  – Jack, LOST

It’s been 3 years since the finale of LOST, and few television shows have ever met the standard that it has set for TV dramas. It was the perfect blend of sci-fi and adventure, even occasionally humor. The characters (at least in the beginning) were identifiable and, for the most part, loveable. The cliffhangers were intriguing. The plotline was unpredictable (I mean really, time travel? Who saw that coming?)

441b4b445e0a1ac9f3fbaf6ce50898e9

The acting was unparalleled. I re-watch that show and am amazed every time.

I’m not the only one who is still Lost, though. My brother recently purchased bumper stickers for his car, which is a hulking green Suburban with police lights across the top. It looks quite believable. The Dharma Initiative is alive and well!

dharma

Sure, the finale was highly debatable and a bit of a letdown in my opinion, but judging the show as a whole? Arguably one of the best television shows of all time.

Am I the only out there who is still stuck on the Island? Fellow Losties, come forth!

6281acffa957fb4cb5d8e759628e8388

4 thoughts on “I’m Still Lost

  1. This may be almost a year after you wrote this, but I am just re-watching the series for a second time. It’s like watching a brand new show and I’m “seeing” some things for the first time. (from small stuff to Kate wringing her wrists in the very first episode the very first time you see her, because **spoiler** she was the convict and just got the cuffs off!, to anagrammed vans: Ben drove a van with the label CANTON – RAINIER (reincarnation) carpet cleaners with Locke’s body inside, to the larger plotlines that I didn’t fully catch the first time around.)

    This is by far one of my favorite shows ever and I look forward to watching it again and again.

    One last note, as you know from watching the show, the writers loved books and were inspired by many elements and featured many different books throughout the series. The one book I’ve never heard mentioned in any forum, but from quite early on I saw in Lost, was the Divine Comedy. Each was on their own spiritual journey to atone for their sins. I thought the ending was perfect because it reflected that. When they were finally ready, each in their own time, they were no longer “lost” and were able to move on. Even the beginning of the series started with the EXACT same opening of the Divine Comedy…In the middle of the journey of our life, I found myself astray in a dark wood, where the straightforward path had been lost. Jack opens his eyes to a forest, not knowing how he got there, and thus begins his spiritual journey to “fix” himself.

    • I love the way you linked the series to the Divine Comedy! You’re so right, I never thought of it that way. And I definitely agree, watching it the second time around there is so much symbolism to pick up on it’s unbelievable. The writers did a phenomenal job with the show and I’m sad its over. Its definitely worth watching again and again–good thing it’s on Netflix!

  2. Hello again! Just wanted to check in with a fellow Lostie and let you know there’s a group on facebook “Lost2017” that just started a rewatch of the series this week (2 episodes a week).

    Also, I wasn’t a part of it, but they were previously LOST2014 and got together on the island (Oahu that is) and even had Jorge Garcia/Hurley come and talk. They are doing it again in 2017. Anyway, just wanted to let you know because you might enjoy the weekly discussion. I also wanted to let you know I’ve enjoyed some of the stories (and even just your creative non-fiction style of writing) from your blog – I started getting updates after I left my original comment :)

    • Thanks for the info! I’m definitely interested, Lost still has a special place in my heart and its about time for a series rewatch! (And I’m glad you enjoy the blog — it makes me happy to know there are people out there reading!)

Leave Your Opinion

