Midnight Sugar Rant

I’m going to get on my little soapbox for a few seconds here, okay? Bear with me. This is one of those annoying ‘be yourself’ speeches that you hear all the time.

I am naturally more of an introvert than anything. I think also, for being only eighteen, I’m kind of an old lady. I’d rather spend my time hanging out at home cooking or knitting (just kidding, I can only crochet) while listening to music from the forties or watching the Dick Van Dyke show.

So when people ask me if I want to hang out, I always feel guilty telling them no. Especially now that Food and Wine is running me ragged and I’m unable to see any of my friends outside of work. I mean, I hardly see my pillow for five hours a night, how can I still have a social life? But I have come to the conclusion that I can do what I want to do. I don’t have to go bowling with everyone, even if Cast Members get discounts after ten on Thursdays.

If I want to go home, shower off the smell of ten hours of grilling brats (it’s lovely) and camp out in front of the new season of How I Met Your Mother on Netflix, I can totally do that. I don’t have to feel even the slightest bit guilty.

For the record, it is also perfectly acceptable to blow off a gentleman caller for the alternative involving Jimmy Durante and homemade caramel. (What? No, I don’t sit at home and eat it with a spoon. Who said anything about a sugar rush?)

Bottom line: just because other people want to pull you in twenty directions doesn’t mean you have to. It’s okay to section off time for a bubble bath. Or a taco making party for one. Or even a nap.

This rant could possibly be the result of lots of caramel late at night.

But when you have friends who are pastry chefs who drop by with fresh biscotti and other homemade goodies, how can you possibly say no?

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got a spoonful of sugar and some Michael Buble to return to. Carry on about your evenings–I’m through with my rant!

One thought on “Midnight Sugar Rant

  1. Jet says:

    First off, relative post to my life.

    I don’t think people understand that we all need, no DESERVE time to ourselves to just relax! One of the many reasons why Dad has his man cave, or the family goes on vacation.

    I’m unsure if it applies to relationships, but sometimes I think we all just need a Break from each other. In the sense of “I have personal things to take care of”

Leave Your Opinion

