Bottom Rung

So one of my closest friends here in Orlando has decided to move back home–cooking professionally was not what she’d envisioned, and she threw in the kitchen towel. I’m upset to see her go. I only have a few friends down here that I’m particularly close to (starting over in a new city is hard!) and it’s going to be lonely without her.

I understand where she’s coming from. This is hard! Balancing school and Food and Wine (she’s another cast member) is really rough. I get less than five hours of sleep a night. I get called in on my days off. My paycheck is lovely, the hours are not. I’m tired all the time, and I’m really not sure how I’m functioning at all.

But this is my dream. This is the bottom rung of the ladder I want one day to stand on top of. That’s how it works here. You have to work your way up, and a lot of the time, it sucks. It’s going to suck.

You just have to accept that it’s going to be rough and give yourself some grace.

Because you will never, ever regret chasing a dream. What-ifs and wondering what would have happened will always be worse than the roughest day on the job. Doubts will kill more dreams than the future ever will.

You have to give it a go. You have to try.

You have to refuse to give in. Even when you want to.

That’s the thing about achieving your dreams– it takes faith, blood, sweat and tears. It’s a hard knock education sometimes.

But it is worthwhile. Every long, hard minute of it.

2 thoughts on “Bottom Rung

Leave Your Opinion

