Christmas, College Style

I hope everyone had a lovely Thanksgiving! Mine was absolutely magical, my family flew down to visit me here in Orlando. We went to Disney on Black Friday and rode all the rides, ate at Harbour House and took photographs of pretty much everything we could get our lens to focus on.

There is something utterly magical about Disney at Christmas time. Since my family flew back home and I’m left in an empty apartment (*sniffle*) I’ve decided to fill the void with a day of Christmas decorating, inspired by the lovely splendor of the parks.

IMG_0886

My apartment won’t really compare to the grand scale of glittering lights on Cinderella’s Castle, but I’m going to at least try.

IMG_1190

I was also fortunate enough to see Frozen this weekend. All those who think its one of the greatest movies ever, say “Aye!” It was gorgeous and cute and perfect. If you haven’t seen it, I highly encourage it.

images

I love seeing Disney movies for the first time, before I start super-analyzing them and memorizing their soundtracks. But ‘Let It Go,’ from Frozen, sung by the flawless Idina Menzel, is going to be belted out on every car ride and in every shower from now until forever. I’m in love with it.

I was tempted to decorate in a Frozen-style manner with silvery blue tinsel and sparkling icy trees (at sale on Target!) but I’m such a traditionalist I had to hold back. It was hard for me to buy pink and purple Christmas ornaments… I’m one of those red and green conservatives who can’t survive decorating without at least a Nutcracker, a nativity scene and a star on the tree.

It’s going to be a very different Christmas in Orlando. For one, there’s no snow–except here in Celebration, where each night at 6, 7, 8 and 9, Market Street is given a dusting of soap-flake snow, the way they do at Magic Kingdom during the Christmas parties.

IMG_0892

I’m ready for some hardcore Christmas decorating here, though! I’ve purchased my tree and ornaments from the Dollar Store and Walmart, respectively, and plan on making some peppermint hot chocolate and playing carols on top volume.

The prices of some of these ornaments though is unbelievable… to put a star on my tree costs almost as much as my tree did! (Which, admittedly, is a bit of a Charlie Brown tree… that’s what I get for being a broke college kid who purchases decorations at the Dollar General.)

Oh well. I could have just hung a tree-shaped air freshener on the wall and put my gifts under that, but I’m not quite that desperate.

Now that Thanksgiving is over, I can shamelessly overplay Christmas carols from now until New Years while I jazz this place up in tinsel and lights.

If you need me, I’ll be hanging mistletoe and watching Eloise at Christmastime. Feel free to join me!

 

 

Leave Your Opinion

