The Liebster Awards!

I collapsed on my couch tonight after a tremendously long day, too keyed up to go straight to bed (like I ought to, shame on me). Instead, I opened my laptop to face the black hole of my free time: the internet. Only today there was a blinking light shining through the procrastination.

The Tipsy Geekette had nominated The Wishin’ Kitchen for… The Liebster Awards! If you’re anything like me, you have no idea what the Leibster Awards are, but you’re excited because it says the word ‘Award’ and that’s always fun stuff. Turns out the Liebster Awards are bloggy internet awards given to up-and-coming blogs by a more experienced blog.

Definitely fun stuff.

The nominator  asks a series of questions, and it is my job as the receiving blog to respond to them in a post of my own.

Woohoo!

So, without further ado, here are a series of questions from the lovely nominators at The Tipsy Geekette.

1. What do you like to geek out about the most?

I feel like I’m cheating by saying Disney, but its true. I’m a Disney geek. Hardcore. But, I am also a part of the Anything From BBC Fandom. I’m a Whovian. I adore Sherlock (who doesn’t?) and I will admit I sometimes watch and re-watch Merlin just because I really adore the Merlin/Arthur bestie bromance.

2. What is your favorite movie and why?

I have about twenty million, but I’ll choose my top few since picking one is  impossible. (In no particular order!)

  • Mona Lisa Smile – something about Julia Roberts and the all girls boarding school and the independence of it all is so great to watch.
  • When In Rome – Kristen Bell is adorable and I can’t pinpoint why I love this movie but I can watch it over and over again and never get bored.
  • Pride and Prejudice – This movie is flawless on every level. Kiera Knightley is stunning and they do the book justice.
  • Roman Holiday – Audrey Hepburn as a princess on the loose in Rome? There is no reason to not love this movie. It is all sorts of Hollywood Glamour perfection.
  • Any of the James Bond movies. And Sean Connery is the best 007 of them all, hands down.

3. Why did you start your blog?

I have a mad passion for Disney and cooking, and I just get so excited about the things I get to experience I want to share it with the world! (I didn’t think anyone would actually listen, but I’m continually amazed my blog gets views).

4. What literary character do you identify with most?

Lucy Pevensie. She’s young and on the verge of plunging into the adult world, especially with the raging war, and yet she lets herself be influenced by the call of Aslan, letting her naivety and blind faith become assets rather than hindrances. Plus she’s relentlessly kind as well as stubborn, and she befriends a lot of strangers. (I guess I’m a Narnia geek, too. I’m sad that fandom is less popular, but I am willing to start a Narnia revival with anyone interested.)

5. If you could live anywhere in the world where would you live?

Cusco, Peru. I got the chance to visit and I absolutely fell in love. The culture, the history, the food… I could spend hours just talking about the food! I would move there in a heartbeat.

6. What is your favorite dessert?

Anything with caramel. Even homemade caramel, straight up with a spoon. Or strawberry ice cream.

7. Do you have a secret talent? If so, then what is it?

I do! I’m a persuasive listener. I can sway the direction of a conversation without saying a word. Its my superpower.

8. How do you overcome writers block?

I read. Every time I open the covers of a book I get inspired to write!

9. If you could hang out with any TV show cast, which cast would you choose?

Ooh, good question. The cast of New Girl seems like a blast. I would have so much fun. I would ask Zooey Deschanel how she gets her bangs to always look so good, mine are always crazy. And they could teach me the rules to True American.

10. Which Disney character is your favorite and why?

Snow White. (Every time I say this at work everyone groans because they think she’s old fashioned and outdated and her singing voice is annoying.) But she’s a classic. She was the original princess, the first animated full-length film ever. She’s classy and brave and despite her horrible circumstances she remains relentlessly positive, and still looks out for others. And she makes pies!

11. Nancy Drew or The Hardy Boys?

I grew up with Nancy Drew, so she’s my preference, but I have nothing against the Hardy Boys. If we combined Nancy Drew and The Hardy Boys into one crime solving team it would be perfect.

Thanks to The Tipsy Geekette for passing on this fun award! I love the feel of being a part of a blogging community.

Leave Your Opinion

