This Heart Beats (LCB) Bleu

I own the rights to this picture, all information on the board belongs solely to the LCB Orlando campus.

I own the rights to this picture, all information on the board belongs solely to the LCB Orlando campus.

1) I refuse to apologize for being enthusiastic.

2) I refuse to eat my ice cream sundae without sprinkles, no I don’t care if I’m holding up the line while measuring out twice my body weight in rainbow jimmies.

3) I refuse to be told I cannot do something because I do not fit the conventional standards. (i.e., “you want to be a chef? Are you even out of high school?”)

4) I refuse to be treated like I am less smart, less experienced or less determined than anyone simply because I would rather wear a smile in the kitchen than a frown.

5) I refuse to be told I have too much school spirit.

6) I refuse to be “fixed,” “educated,” or “helped” simply because I disentangle myself from crude content/behavior.

7) I refuse to be picked on because “it would be funny to see Erin get mad!”

8) I refuse to let negative people turn me negative by influence.

9) I refuse to give up on my dreams just because I am discouraged.

10) I refuse to let anyone stop me from being exactly who I am.

Photo Credit: my friend Shawn. (I own all rights to this photograph.)

Today was #LCBBleuHeart Day at the Orlando campus of Le Cordon Bleu, hosted by the school, supported by the Student Advisory Committee, of which I am a member. Because Le Cordon Bleu is a vocational school (or what we call “a commuter school”) we don’t have big rallies, school spirit or even a strong campus community. People want an intense, hard-earned, compact degree in a relatively short amount of time. Over half the school population works in the industry. In short, we are very hardworking folks who come to school, work hard, and leave.

Today was designed to rally the campus together and try and get some good old fashioned school spirit flowing through our ‘Blue Hearts.’ Each student was given a blank blue heart to pin to our uniform, stating our dream or the reason we were at Le Cordon Bleu.

This is my Bleu Heart, and I'm proud of it.  Again, all rights to this photograph are mine.

This is my Bleu Heart, and I’m proud of it.
Again, all rights to this photograph are mine.

We set up photo booths for people to take pictures with fun and inspirational quotes (very Pinterest-y) and to pose with our chef instructors. In general, have a good time. We also had a free ice cream bar.

I get into this kind of stuff. For me, school spirit fits right into my flow. I’m enthusiastic by nature. So I was floored when people not only acted disinterested but acted negative towards the event.

“This is stupid,” a close classmate growled as we took a class picture. “I’m not doing this [expletive].”

I stared at him like he’d grown two heads. “WHERE,” I demanded, “is your school spirit?”

I received a glare in return. So I glared back. Then I realized I needed to let it go.

As much as I hate it, people will be negative. They’ll only show up for the free ice cream.

But you know what? They’re the minority on campus. I saw so many smiling faces today! I posted a TON of Instagram photos just so I could singlehandedly blow up the #LCBBleuHeart  hashtag. (My Instagram followers are going to hate me. I have nothing but Bleu Heart photos up. I think I posted over 20.)

We're rocking our LCB Pride today.  I own all rights to this photo.

We’re rocking our LCB Pride today.
I own all rights to this photo.

And you know what? I am not going to feel bad about posting over 20 Instagram photos. I’m not going to feel bad that not every single person had a blast. I ran the ice cream bar and got to meet new students, make new friends and chat about cuisine with my fellow foodies. Just because not everyone was enthusiastic doesn’t mean I can’t be.

I get really irrationally angry at negative people, but I need to get over it. I’ll have enough school spirit to cover all the Debbie Downers. I have enough school spirit to cover all of Central Florida.

I’m done apologizing for being a force of positivity.  There’s nothing wrong with that, and I’m tired of people trying to “fix” me or “educate” me. I’m sick of it.

You do your thing. I see the world through my own set of sparkling Bleu lenses. And you know what? I like it that way.

Again, I own all rights to this photo.

Again, I own all rights to these super high quality ridiculously professional looking photographs.

Leave Your Opinion

