Terrines! Part Two.

I know you’re just dying inside to know how my terrines turned out.

Right?

Right.

Well, after poaching them in a water bath (the oven was 350, the water 180 and the internal temp of the terrine a precise 155) and weighting them with bricks, setting them in the cooler overnight and poking them with curiosity, the terrines finally popped their molds today.

It was a bit of a vexing sight, actually, to see these terrines naked without their protective barriers keeping them in shape. They were…well, let’s be honest here. They were mounds of poached meat.

10472742_10202332056843382_8727346376179676123_n

Looks delicious, right?

Let me sum up this whole terrine thing. A terrine is a fancy meatloaf and an aspic is a savory Jell-O.

Now that I have that off my chest, I can say I pleasantly surprised at how they turned out. Our mushroom terrine, in its happy little triangle mold, was actually quite beautiful–creamy pink at the top, eggshell white the middle and earthy grey at the bottom–all in all quite fancy.

10453012_10202332054643327_5864721589303870583_oo

My quality photos are less beautiful. Bear with me.

 

Our rabbit terrine was even prettier. Studded with pistachios, almonds and hazelnuts along with tender slivers of rabbit tenderloin, it looked like a treasure chest of meat wrapped in bacon.

Of course, from the outside, they weren’t very pretty, and the gelatinous residue left in the terrine mold was unappetizing, despite the chef’s insistence it was “delicious and good for your bones!” (I tried it. It was cold, congealed and slimy. I pride myself on trying everything at least once, but I won’t put that stuff in my mouth again.)

And, last but not least, our heirloom tomato aspic. We carefully removed it from the mold, propped it upright as it wiggled towards freedom and tried to gingerly cut it without tearing its gelatinous innards apart. We mostly succeeded.

This is, of course, Le Cordon Bleu, where it’s a big deal to make a big deal out of French food, so we designed a giant garde manger spread using an aspic platter as a centerpiece (made simply like a Jell-O stained glass, colored gelatin can become an art form). We handmade our own mustards, which were potent and vibrant and pack a real whollop. I will share the recipe, slightly modified after trial and error, below.

And I’m sure you want to know what everything looked like, right? Of course you do! Well, here it is: our platter of Garde Mange Goodness.

10535770_10202332054243317_7958221328303345901_o

Please do ignore the terrible quality of my cell phone camera.

!

Photo belongs to the author.

Victory Photo!

And now, as I promised, a kick-butt mustard recipe. And I really do mean that–this stuff is potent. It only takes a little, but it goes a long way and you’ll love it. Just trust me.

 

Beer Mustard

2/3 c    ark beer

3    eggs

2/3 c    dry mustard

dash  salt

dash white pepper

1/8 t allspice

1/2 t        Worcestershire sauce

1T       packed brown sugar

2T       white wine vinegar

1T       caraway seeds

1. Combine all ingredients except the caraway seeds, mixing to combine thoroughly.

2. In a double broiler (a bowl over boiling water) cook the mixture, stirring constantly until smooth and thick. Taste, adjust seasonings.

3. Add caraway seeds, combine well.

4. Stores well refrigerated for up to two weeks.

 

This powerful mustard will help any terrine go down. (Not that I didn’t love the terrines… I just found the mushroom terrine a bit chalky. I’m not a fan of poached meat, I guess.)  Let’s face it: they’re kind of a genius idea, and a huge moneymaker.

And who doesn’t like the idea of meat Jell-O?

Leave Your Opinion

